12 Replies Latest reply: May 13, 2013 6:13 PM by peds48 RSS

Cabling problem 775

jptheob

I moved my TV to the other side of the room.  Only connection I changed was the length of the coax cable from the wall to the power supply and the length of the hdmi cable from the HR24 receiver to the TV.  A program came up instantly and was working for 3-4 mins before I got "Problem communicating with dish (775).  I read other forums and the on-screen help.  I did not change anything on the back of the receiver and the light is still green on the power supply.  I did unplug it to try to reset it but with no luck.  Suggestions?

• Re: Cabling problem 775
    peds48

Make sure the coax that is coming from the wall connects to the "PWR to SWM" on the PI.  also make sure that there are no shorts on the coax extension

I am a DirecTV installer.  I post on these forums as a volunteer and as such, my views, comments, and opinions are my own and not necessarily those of DirecTV 

notdeadyet

not sure it's related to this problem, but I discovered today that ext 775 is also a result of trying to use more than 8 working tuners (duals count as 2, and genies as 5) on one SWM lnb, as the limit is 8.....I could not get my friends up and running today after disconnecting it for some testing, and ext 775 (and 776) continued, BUT as soon as I reprogrammed one of his dual PVRs to single, the other machine kicked right in!!  That brought him back down to a total of 8 tuners from 9. I'm very surprised there isn't more info from our installers here on this site regarding the tuner limits :(

peds48
    Quote:    Originally Posted by notdeadyet 

. I'm very surprised there isn't more info from our installers here on this site regarding the tuner limits :(

This fact is everywhere through this site.  just got to do a search.

notdeadyet