72 Replies Latest reply: May 14, 2014 10:35 AM by texasbrit RSS

HR34 Freezes Video at beginning of recording but audio continues

jkm2730

My HR34-700 which has worked well for a year but now seems to have recording problems. When you playback the recording the video freezes in the first few seconds and the audio continues to play.  You can NOT fast forward, rewind or skip forward, skip back.  This happens on various channels at various times.  I have been able to duplicate it by recording 5 channels manually off of the Guide.  It appears that the first recording of the batch shows the freezing symptom but the 4 others are OK.  Now I did this test manually in the Guide as I wanted to know if one of the 5 tuners/recorders in the HR34 was causing this problem.  I only attempted this test 2 times.  The first time all 5 shows worked OK the second time I attempted it I was able to duplicate it as written above.  I did this test as I have lots of experience using multiple tuners/recorders in Windows Media and I wondered if the HR34 had a "bad" tuner.  I assume the electronics in the HR34 has 5 separate digital tuners/recorders.  If I correct it could be that one tuner is an issue.  I am not sure how the HR34 prioritizes the tuners and whether or not it selects the same first tuner each time the first recording begins.  I will attempt a few more trys of the 5 manual recordings to see if I get again get 4 good shows and one bad.  The problem is intermittent but seems to be more frequent than when it was first noticed a few weeks ago.