14 Replies Latest reply: Feb 6, 2014 9:02 AM by jnicke RSS

Remote over IP on Genie Clients

jnicke

I upgraded to Genie and that is when the problems began. I have been using an app to control my whole home tv's for several years. It is a great feature when you have a wiring closet or home theater setup.   While Direct TV's app has a remote-control function, I am using an Android app from Cognitial Mobile.  Both fail in the same way. In fact, I tried all of the public apps.

With wifi on, the search finds the Genie and the C41 clients by name, so they all have unique IP addresses.  On the C41, most basic functions work, but it consistently hangs when you try to do some functions such as change resolution or audio in setup.  The app still sends the commands and the Genie usually still acknowledges them (though only with the "bonk" sound), but for whatever reason it just stops responding to them. The funny thing is, these same apps work fine on the Gennie HR44, but not the clients.

Anyway to get DTV to look at this?

• Re: Remote over IP on Genie Clients
    rolls

My only question for you is, why do you think its something DTV should look into?

I'm not saying that your in a "Too bad" situation, but my thinking would lead me to the Developers who make that app, since its not an app DTV makes, why should they look into it? Yes its their equipment, but at the same time the apps developer is the one who is responsable for making his app work, not what ever product its trying to work with.

jnicke

Thanks for responding Rolls.   As I mentioned, even the Direct TV app fails in the exact same manner.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.directv.navigator&feature

So I submit that, if Direct TV fixes their app (or the Genie), then all other app developers are good to go.