19 Replies Latest reply: Feb 1, 2011 2:05 AM by tvhawaii RSS

Error Code list

drnate
Is there a list of the error codes ? I'm a service tech and seem to be getting more and more "X" 's during installation of a replacement receiver. For instance, recently I was getting an X on only the 101, evens, tuner 1, with a signal of 95. The job was a single HDDVR with a slim5, very professionally done.

If I goto "Get waiver" It gives a code. I'm assuming this code can help us define what the real issue is. This information has NOT made it out to the techs and can greatly improve our "hunt & guess" time to see what the problem is.

I assumed that just repeatedly hitting the "test again" wasn't going to make the problem go away. Worse, each time I hit it the "X" moved positions. Changing the LNB and hot dropping continued the "X" bouncing from sat/even/odd/tuner. eventually.. it just passed and went on. I left. Instead of knowing what the real problem was and fixing it... I got lucky and left.

Also,

The verification has been giving a fault when a SL3 LNB is on the job instead of a SL5 LNB. I was only replacing a box(service call). It seemed silly to change a good LNB while at a job just to change dead IRD. While waiting on hold for Installation Support I decided to, in the rain, change the LNB. The work took less time.

I'll suggest if there are the need for so many "waivers" lets get some more phone handlers. I'm hourly and not cheap nor are the parts I change. I'd never reuse a part on another job. You never know what intermittent issues they could have had previously. (known or unknown by the customer.)

--Nate

• Error Code list
    redneck_tech