11 Replies Latest reply: Feb 26, 2013 7:25 AM by peds48 RSS

Snow, cleaning dish, spraying it with Pam?

aetaylor

Hello,

I am new to Satellite TV and DirecTV. So, of course, all my "cable TV" friends have horror stories. I am in Massachusetts and I do get a lot of snow every winter.

My dish is located on the top of my garage roof - 35 feet up. Not a place I want to go in the winter time.

I am being told I have to clean the snow off the dish to maintain reception - true/false?

It is been recommended that I go up on the roof and spray the dish with Pam every fall to make sure the snow will "slip off" the dish.

And of course that every rain storm is going to stop reception.

How true is any of this and what other tall tales are out there?

Thanks

• Re: Snow, cleaning dish, spraying it with Pam?
    litzdog911

No! Do not use Pam!  This is a myth.  Pam is greasy and will stain your dish.  And besides, it's generally only the early or late very wet snows that cause reception problems.  Typically the issue is with storm cells BETWEEN your dish and the satellites, that is in the clouds.  

aetaylor

So, there is a possibility that I am going to have to clean snow off my dish in order to maintain reception?

(I don't have a 40 foot ladder, nor do I have the strength anymore to stand one up if I had one.)

djdicetn

Sorry...LOL....how can anybody be thinking about snow with the current nationwide heat wave???:0)

lowessnipe

they do sell heaters for the ka/ku dishes that work very well

dcd
    Quote:    Originally Posted by aetaylor 

So, there is a possibility that I am going to have to clean snow off my dish in order to maintain reception?

Yes,  I've had Directv service for over ten years and had to clean off the snow twice.  I live in NJ near NYC.  We don't get as much snow as you do, but generally the snow simply falls off.

soonermaan