34 Replies Latest reply: Apr 27, 2012 1:55 PM by joesch RSS

How do I transfer HR22-100 recorded programs to DVD's for watching on a PC?

dubob

I wiil obviously have to buy a compatible HD DVD Recorder/Player or BlueRay R/P to do this.  So my question is this; have any of you found and used a compatible R/P to actually do this?  And if so, what was the brand and model?

• Re: How do I transfer HR22-100 recorded programs to DVD's for watching on a PC?
    peds48

you would do this the same way you would do as if you were copying to a VCR.  the content won't be HD though

• Re: How do I transfer HR22-100 recorded programs to DVD's for watching on a PC?
    dubob
    Just found this information that seems to disagree. I'm not an expert in this area, so can shed some light on this?
    Quote:   Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder
    With the Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder, converting and archiving your favorite home movies to DVD is simple. You can also experience your DVD movie collection in near HD quality with the Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder's 1080p upconversion via HDMI®. One Touch Recording on this Toshiba DR430 DVD Recorder makes recording your favorite show simple. Just connect your DVD recorder to your cable or satellite box and you are set to record with the push of one button!

Video upconversion up to 1080p takes your current DVDs to a new level, for an amazing viewing experience on today's HDTVs. Multi-Format Recording and Playback provides the utmost in recording media convenience with compatibility with the most popular formats (DVD-R, DVD-RW, DVD+R, DVD+RW).

tigerjohn

Simple... you RECORD at DVD resolution

>1080p upconversion via HDMI

You PLAY at "near HD quality" by means of an "upconversion" process inside the box... IF your TV has an HDMI connection

Nowhere does it say you may record BluRay (true HiDef) on a DVD

ALSO... be aware that some (most?) DVD recorders will NOT record if the original recording on your DVR has a "do not record" flag

dubob