5 Replies Latest reply: Aug 15, 2012 1:06 PM by dcd RSS

Direct TV HD DVR equipment, Wireless Connection via Wireless Adapter, External Hard Drive USB port connected

silkie24

Hi

I am new to Direct TV.  Was 2 yr subscriber to DISH which at the moment appears to be much more technology advanced than Direct TV.  

Had the Multi Unit to record on 2 TV sets, which also I had a 500G LaCie Hrd Drive via USB port to my DISH recorder/receiver which showed up as 'My Media' to 'archive' recorded shows to the External Hard Drive.  Could then either delete shows, Restore shows, or Play the shows.  

Also had my own Wireless Adapter connection plugged into a heavy duty Equipment Power adapter to plug all equipment into, ie. tv, recorders, DVR, BluRay, Home Theater system, etc.  The Apple Wireless Adapter plugged into power strip powers my Apple TV, 1st & 2nd generation which also enables access to Pandora, Netflix, YouTube, etc.  I did not use the Sling Adapter of DISH to access VOD and other internet services.  I paid the one time fee to Activate the Internet service.

Now that I have the HD DVR installed with Advanced Service enabled, I asked installer and tech support if I can still