13 Replies Latest reply: Mar 12, 2013 2:15 PM by texasbrit RSS

No sound from TV to home theater system.

mack_okc

I've just changed from Cox Cable to DirecTV and have the Whole Home system.  I have an R34 DVR and three C31 client boxes.  I have a surround system connected to TV coming off the R34 and have no problems with getting sound or setting volume lock.

However, I have the same setup coming off one of the C31's and I get no sound and no volume lock.  Remote control settings routine sees the surround system, but does not allow me to select it.  While on Cox I had no problems.  I have some experience troubleshooting and have verified that sound system is working properly, that cables are OK, and that TV is putting out audio when connected to a DVD player.  I have even swapped out the C31 with one of the others and no luck.

The ONLY difference in my setup is that my Cox Cable box was replaced with the C31.

Had a DirecTV technician come out and called DirecTV hotline and have been getting conflicting advice and excuses and a general run around ever since.  Logic and reason would suggest that the problem is being caused by something in the C31 boxes.  Please advise.  At wits end and considering going back to Cox.

• Re: No sound from TV to home theater system.
    litzdog911

How exactly is the C31's Audio OUT connected to your TV?  Or is it connected to your Surround Sound Receiver/Amp?   

Note that if you're connecting the TV's Audio OUT to your Surround System, you might not get audio because most HDTVs can't pass DD5.1 audio from their Audio OUT.   In that case you need to connect the C31's Audio OUT directly to your Surround System.   

mack_okc